As a reminder from BOLDplanning, an Agility company, FEMA’s fiscal year 2021 (FY 2021) application period for two Hazard Mitigation Assistance Notices of Funding Opportunities (NOFOs) will soon end. 

This includes the Flood Mitigation Assistance (FMA) grant program and the Building Resilient Infrastructure and Communities (BRIC) grant program. The BRIC grant program, as you most likely know, replaced FEMA’s Pre-Disaster Mitigation (PDM) grant program in 2020.

Both competitive grant programs provide states, local communities, tribes, and territories funding for eligible mitigation activities to strengthen our nation’s ability to build a greater culture of preparedness by reducing disaster losses and protecting life and property from future disaster damage. 

The guiding principles of the BRIC program, in particular (and as explained by FEMA), are:

  1. Supporting communities through capability- and capacity-building; 
  2. Encouraging and enabling innovation; 
  3. Prompting partnerships; 
  4. Enabling large projects; 
  5. Maintaining flexibility; and, 
  6. providing consistency. 

For FY 2021, FEMA will distribute up to $1 billion through the BRIC program alone in the following manner: 

State/Territory Allocation – $56 million (up to $1 million per applicant). All 50 states and U.S. territories, as well as the District of Columbia, are eligible. 

Tribal Set-Aside – $25 million. All federally recognized tribal governments may apply for $1 million federal cost-share per applicant. 

National Competition for Mitigation Project